Pennsylvania divides DUI into three levels, says BAC. These levels are officially known as general deterioration, high rate, and highest rate, which is similar to the confusing practice of pizzas being described as medium, large, and oversized. To avoid confusion, most people use the most logical terms medium and high when referring to the two highest levels of BAC. People Convicted of Driving Under the Influence of Alcohol or Drugs (DUI) Face Stiff DUI Penalties in Pennsylvania.
Those penalties can include mandatory incarceration in a county or state prison, significant mandatory fines and court costs, and suspension of your driving privileges. In addition, a DUI arrest and conviction will often result in the loss of your job and can cause long-term damage to your future personal and professional opportunities. With your future at stake, hiring an experienced DUI defense attorney is essential. Penalties for a DUI conviction in Pennsylvania range from not going to jail to five years in prison.
But even if he escapes from jail, he could face other penalties for drunk driving in Pennsylvania. These penalties could include license suspension, probation, fines, and mandatory alcohol treatment. You'll also face a lot of DUI costs that you probably weren't aware of. A second DUI offense for general disability is incredibly rare, because most people who receive a second DUI are experienced drinkers with a high tolerance.
However, there are options that may be available to first-time DUI offenders that can help keep their record clean. In Pennsylvania, a DUI conviction will remain on your record for life unless it is removed or given limited-access relief. In Pennsylvania, DUI penalties can vary and are based on the number of times the driver has been convicted of DUI and his blood alcohol content at the time of his arrest. Whether you go to jail for your DUI arrest depends on your BAC level, if you have a history, and if you are actually convicted.
Pennsylvania's revised DUI laws also provide for greater penalties for defendants with higher BAC than those with lower BAC. Unfortunately, even a first-time DUI charge can have negative repercussions for a person's personal and professional life. House arrest programs offer an alternative to incarceration for people facing first or second offense DUI charges. Pennsylvania Uses DUI Penalty System Based on Amount of Blood Alcohol Content (BAC) Detected at Time of Arrest.
No matter the reason for your arrest, you have the right to hire an experienced DUI lawyer in Pennsylvania to defend your rights. In Pennsylvania, as in all other states, penalties for a DUI conviction depend on how many times the driver has been convicted of driving under the influence of alcohol in the past. Kellis has used his 25 years of experience in jury trials and dedication to exclusively defending clients against DUI charges to help them avoid the harsh penalties of a DUI offense for the first time. In addition to the following penalties, the possibility of an additional 150 hours of community service may be added to any and all DUI or denial of evidence charges.
Individuals who successfully complete the ARD program are eligible to ask the court to delete their DUI case records. We understand that good people are capable of making mistakes and that many first-time DUI charges are just that: mistakes. In order to establish consistency between the various common court cases across the Commonwealth, DUI convictions carry mandatory minimum sentences. .